PDA

View Full Version : Automation In Prepress Department Group?

mjohnson
02-09-2006, 01:06 AM
I would love to have a place to share thoughts on new creative ways to add automation in the prepress environment. Not only in Prinergy but in any aspect of the department.

Matt Johnson

jminrod
02-23-2006, 02:40 PM
Hi mjohnson, I work as a preflight lead for a large company. Whe don't have access to files of our jacket because of security and the pc/mac platform. But from prinergy we add a folder automatically to our userdefined folder. In this folder is placed a pdf form that we add any important prepress issues our offsets for gap because of being web offset. I set the file up to have drop down menus of customer names and the csr or contact info. In turn all of this info gets archived with the whole job. We are also almost done with a digital job log using Filemaker pro that will, with limited user interaction, store proof in proof out, who proofed a job etc... I don't know if this is exactly what you were looking for. Hope it helps someone.

hostmaster
02-23-2006, 07:34 PM
We are also almost done with a digital job log using Filemaker pro that will, with limited user interaction, store proof in proof out, who proofed a job etc...

That sounds interresting. Since we´re using Filemaker in other areas, i like the idea of integration of Prinergy, Filemaker and perhaps Preps.
Are you using or parsing JDF-Files with Filemaker?

jminrod
02-23-2006, 08:22 PM
Hi hostmaster, as of now we do not do jdf but I am setting stuff and trying to prepair for it when we do go full jdf. My main problem is the MIS dept not giving us access to everything on th epc network end.

mjohnson
02-25-2006, 05:01 PM