PDA

View Full Version : PS/M 6 on a Powermac G4


mac4
02-13-2006, 04:27 PM
I have been running PS/M 6 on a G3 for years and today switched it over to a G4--I am having communication problems and vaguely remember that there was some kind of patch for operating on a G4. Any insights?

prepress13
05-08-2006, 05:01 PM
4 helpful tips for running PS/M on a G4. Set Sleep to never in Energy saver. Turn virtual memory off. Press the reset button on the VSLI Card; Power off the Mac open it up and you will see a small reset button. Hold it in for about 5 seconds then close up the Mac and restart. On restart you can check the configuration under the setup menu in PS/M. You should be running version 6.1. It is the reset button that should solve your problem, the other 3 tips will keep you running smoothly.

mac4
05-08-2006, 06:41 PM
There is also an extension that must be updated to run properly. The SFL extension that shipped on the PS/M 6 disc is not compatible with a G4--you need to get a newer version.