PDA

View Full Version : Prinergy Archive Storage


agitzen
01-03-2008, 07:39 PM
So what are people using to archive their Prinergy data?
We have a little Qualstar AIT library that was hooked up when the Prinergy servers were installed.
AIT tape is just old technology that I don't want to use that if I can help it.
We are running out of room on our Tertiary server, a 3.41 terabyte raid with 700 gigs left.
I have seen a slow down lately and it's being a pain.
We would love to keep the Prinergy data inside of Prinergy as long as possible. Any suggestions?

Running ver 3.1.0.5 (upgrading to 3.1.0.8 this weekend)

tclifford
01-04-2008, 02:23 PM
We ask the question of every job from every customer, "One the job prints, what do you want us to do with the files...purge, archive or give you back the files" We charge for keeping the files and but a good number of people want us to keep the files for reprint. Depending on your market segment, you may have less reprint possibilities. We love our AIT jukebox. Works slick, but we also make an export of each job and send that offsite for extra backup.

agitzen
01-04-2008, 03:09 PM
When you archive offsite are you using the export function in Prinergy?
Also for offsite backup do you then send that export and the User defined folders?
How much capacity do you get out of each tape?

tclifford
01-04-2008, 03:23 PM
Yes we use export. Export works well as we rarely have application files, we are over 95% PDF files so the user defined folders are mostly empty and we use the off site backup as a last resorts so as ling as the sub pages are all there..we can almost recreate the rest. Our AIT tapes are AIT3 so we get 100 uncompressed 200 compressed GB per tape...approx.

When you archive offsite are you using the export function in Prinergy?
Also for offsite backup do you then send that export and the User defined folders?
How much capacity do you get out of each tape?

vinnyfalcone
01-04-2008, 07:17 PM
We just completed a major upgrade of our Prinergy system. We added a Qualstar 8222. This gives us +8tb of native storage capacity. This is pretty expensive if you buy the tape library from Kodak. If you have Prinergy Archiver already, you might be able to add the library yourself at one third the cost.

richards
01-08-2008, 10:38 AM
After Prinergy has completed its archives onto AIT tape. When the Tape is Complete (Full) we then make a copy using Backup restore on a Lacie 2T ethernet Big Disk. We then use this to quickly access old jobs.