PDA

View Full Version : ** PREPS 6 WishList ** (Part A).

matmac
05-10-2009, 02:09 PM
** PREPS 6 WISHLIST **.

I've been working in PREPS for ~7 years now, Presswise prior to that. Preps is used for every job that is printed at my current workplace, totaling thousands of jobs a year. Here's the first part of some of the changes that I would like to see in Future releases of Preps.

1. Thumbnails on page / run list pages / signatures
If Preps where to generate a thumbnail for every page on import, pages could be easily identified for correct order. Late page edits in preps would be much easier. The need to do full previews for the Signature Previews would diminish. PLEASE add thumbnails to Preps. I would expect that this would be something along the lines of a jpeg or low res pdf that job be added to the preps job file or as an auxiliary file in the job folder. See Fig.1

2. Integrate Job Collector / Ability to Job Collect with selectable objects.
Why on earth is the Job Collector a separate application to PREPS? Why not build this functionality directly into Preps, allowing for jobs to be archived from within Preps. See Fig.2A .Most of the time I know where the input source files are, it's the MARKS and TEMPLATES that need to be saved with the job that are buried with the Preps App folder. Although there is the option to collect these marks / templates it's only with all the other job files. Please add the ability to collect ONLY the Preps objects to a separate job folder. See Fig. 2B.

3. Ability to open a job as a template.