PDA

View Full Version : Concept of a color setup

rogerB
07-29-2010, 06:55 PM
My first post here -- be gentled.

On Page 5 of ColorFlow UserGuide, the concept of a color setup is explained.

I understand the idea of a PCO, an SCO and a CI.

The PCO is described as "a color reference point to which all other devices in the color setup will be aligned".

As I'm new in ColorFlow's scheme of things, the way I read the above sentence would seem to apply MORE to the idea of a Color Input -- not a PCO.

It seems that having everything gravitate around a PCO (always a press, by definition) is missing the fact that what a print shop should gravitate around is what "standard" or "specification" it is trying to emulate, such as SWOP or GRACoL or ISO-12647-X. Not a press?

Best / RogerB

david.herder
07-29-2010, 07:39 PM
Hi Roger,
By all means, a PCO can be a Press aimed at a spec or standard. A PCO can also be a proofer aimed at a spec or standard. A PCO can also be a spec or standard all by itself.

Some of the disadvantages of adding a CMYK Reference as a PCO are discussed in the OLH, Chapter 4> Working With ColorFlow Software> Aligning a reference device condition in the PCO.

The advantage of using a CMYK reference as your PCO includes simplicity, and overall adherence to the specification as your common "stake in the ground". However, what happens when one device cannot achieve the spec, or there are significant gamut restrictions of one of the SCOs but not others?

Choosing your PCO device condition is the most influential decision that you will make in this software. When you choose the device to add, think about "what color response am I actually selling to my customers?" Is it a press sheet aligned to a spec? A proof? Or, an abstract color response?

hope this helps,
dave

rogerB
07-29-2010, 07:58 PM
I think "it is a press sheet aligned to a spec" -- no doubt.