PDA

View Full Version : transparency


colorfilm
07-13-2006, 05:38 PM
Hi, I´m using a PSM8 and I´m having trouble with transparency. A client send me a PDF made in Illustrator, and I have an image in a compound path, and beside the image a tex, the problem is that the text is under the image, but in the part that is hidded by the compund path. When I render this in hte PSM8, the part of the image that is hidded also transforms in CT so all that is under that transforms and the text that was a vector transforms in CT and looses quality. We were fixing this problem by editing the illustrator and moving the tex foward, but is there a way that the PSM8 just transforms in CT the part of the image that is in the compound path in the illustrator and not the part that is not visible.
I hop someone could help me.
thanks
nicolas

prepress37
07-13-2006, 06:04 PM
did you try going into preferences and changing the CT edges to lw resolution instead of CT?

colorfilm
07-13-2006, 06:47 PM
Just tried that, but the image disapears and it generates several CT.

prepress37
07-13-2006, 07:17 PM
another work around might be is to make the text on a separate layer and save 2 separate eps's out of illustrator, and place the text on the top of the image in indesign and postcript the file. Also, you might try to use creo flattener and change the pdf into a postcript and then rip the postcript on psm. Creo flattener is available for download on creos website.

doug

colorfilm
07-13-2006, 09:16 PM
Thanks, I´ll try it and I´ll keep you updated. Thanks again

barak.paltiel
07-13-2006, 11:09 PM
Hello Nicolas

a) On application (If you have control)
Adobe recommend that Text and other layers which do not have
transparency must be on top of transparency layers,
Otherwise there is a chance of unpredictable results
(As far as I know, for any RIP)


b) Send only PDF 1.3 or PS/EPS files to the PS/M.
PDF 1.4 and up should be saved as follows:
Best from Acrobat 7 (6 not as good but OK) with
"Transparency Quality" = 100% vector

Line art and text set to your LW resolution and Gradient set to
your CT resolution
Other Adobe application – “Transparency Flattener” must set to
“High Resolution”.
c)Use Creo Flatener to convert PDF to PS before PS/M



More detailed regarding (a) and (b) can be found in:

http://media.studio.adobe.com/linked...ansparency.pdf

This is a MUST READ for handling transparency files.


c)On the PS/M
a)CT2CT boarders – LW res (FAF should be in the same template)
b)PS Overprint - Checked
c)LW res divided by CT res - an integer numnber
like 2400 and 400 or 2540 and 508 DPI

Best Regards

P. Baraki

barak.paltiel
07-13-2006, 11:24 PM
A broken link - Files moved to:

http://studio.adobe.com/us/print/main.jsp

or specifically

http://www.adobe.com/products/creativesuite/pdfs/dgt.pdf

and

http://media.studio.adobe.com/linked_content/en/acs2bgtransparency/acs2bgtransparency.pdf

colorfilm
07-13-2006, 11:29 PM
I just tried ripping it in the PSM with the borders to LW and chaging the resolution in the CT and LW, and it worked fine. But I´m having some problem with the black, the vector that transforms to CT and is in black it dosen´t overprint. The illustrator dosen´t have the option of overprint, I´m giving it in the PSM. Is there a way to fix this without editing the illustrator, but changing some attribute in the PSM?

barak.paltiel
07-14-2006, 12:01 AM
To answer this I need the PDF
Please put it on

ftp://cilftp.creo.com
folder inkpro/incoming

if you can put a small readme file describing the
location of the problem it will help.

colorfilm
07-14-2006, 03:01 PM
I´ve uploded it to the server, insted of a pdf I´ve send you an illustrator with an example of the problem.

barak.paltiel
07-14-2006, 05:36 PM
Can you please send the PDF?
Answer by Sunday.

colorfilm
07-17-2006, 02:05 PM
I´ve uploaded the pdf with a txt to the server.

barak.paltiel
07-17-2006, 03:08 PM
Checking with Acrobat7/Output Preview it turned out the Text
is defined to knockout (Before PSM)

This can not be corrected by PS/M.

Only way I know to fix it post RIP is by presstouch,
But as CT2CT at LW res makes 4 LW files in this case(100/12.5)
it's will take time to do it.

colorfilm
07-17-2006, 11:06 PM
But is there a preference in the PSM that let me overprint black, if the file did not had the preference to overprint black. Not the vector, but the part that is transfor from vector to CT because of transparency.