PDA

View Full Version : Colourbar problem


rhodar
09-13-2006, 01:41 AM
We have a client with a new heidelberg press that wants us to put their colourbar on all jobs. they want the mark to be centered and cropped just before the outer trims. I am able to set the bar up in preps as a dupmark and get it to centre and crop with no problem but as soon as I send a job to our Brisque (v4.0.97) as an .icf the mark automatically left justifies instead of centres when the job is translated. Does anyone know any way around this or is it perhaps something that is solved in a later version of the Brisque software?

Rhodar
Toolbox Imaging Limited
Wellington
New Zealand

rusticman
09-13-2006, 11:20 PM
?What version of preps are you using?

?Just curiuos. How did you set up the Dup colorbar to crop automatically?

?Not quite a good answer, but i will note that we have not converted our
shop to using smartmarks yet- mostly out of ignorance. But then again,
with the amount of fixes they make to smart marks with every version of
preps, it makes me a bit releaved.

?We use Heidle and Komori presses and have to put bars for both on Every
template. We do it with static color bars. We don't need the center function
to place the bars that have an even width/height, but we Do center the oddD
sized bars given to us by the komori people (thanks guys..)

Using brisque v4 and v5, there has never been an issue with the centering.
So i'm leaning towards a bug in DUPmarks for your version. But again i
stress, we don't use those so don't take it from me.

We add coverup marks to the sides of the color bars to crop them so that
there is not extra ink alloted to dead areas of the sheet on press.
________
marijuana vaporizer (http://weedvaporizer.info/)

rhodar
09-15-2006, 02:47 AM
Preps Version is 5.2.1 (also had the problem in 5.2)

To get the dup mark to crop i just put in a value for the length i wanted the mark to be.

What I have noticed is that if I use a static mark it always shows as left justified in Preps but if I use a smart mark and tell it to be centred it shows as such on the template but left justifies when the .icf is translated.

Getting the mark to centre is a breeze as long as I am will to use the entire mark (I simply stop it being a dupmark) but I need it to centre on a specific point and crop (client requirement)...

Rhodar
Toolbox Imaging Limited
Wellington
New Zealand

rickm
10-03-2006, 04:21 PM
Just came upon your post today regarding the colorbars not centering. (a little late, I know...time constraints) Have you tried just ripping the colorbar eps and placing it as an independent page? The page size being the width and height of the desired bar. That way, you could specify the cropping and position without having it shift to the left.

rhodar
10-03-2006, 08:45 PM
i like that idea a lot and will give it a go :)

Rhodar
Toolbox Imaging Limited
Wellington
New Zealand

rhodar
11-09-2006, 08:50 PM
Well it has been over a month but I have tried the colourbar as a page and it works like a charm. Now I just have to work out how to use it in a saddle-stitched job :)

Rhodar
Toolbox Imaging Limited
Wellington, New zealand