GUA Forums

 

Go Back   GUA Forums > Applications > Preps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-20-2017, 06:03 PM
jstotz's Avatar
jstotz jstotz is offline
Seasoned GUA Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 314
Default Re: New to Preps

A few things that may explain your error messages.

When you use Preps with Prinergy, you should always start preps from within Prinergy. Either with Create New Imposition, Edit Imposition, or (from the Tools menu) Start Imposition Application. You should never just launch Preps from the Dock like other Mac applications because it won't load the special Prinergy config/prefs file.
__________________
Jamie Stotz
Westland Printers
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-20-2017, 06:27 PM
wendytf's Avatar
wendytf wendytf is offline
Seasoned GUA Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 315
Send a message via MSN to wendytf
Default Re: New to Preps

Jamie, your Import Imposition instructions worked for me. (Except pdf file, not pdf).

I quit Prinergy and Preps and tried JCannon's instructions and got the same fail message.

I'll work with your solution for now, but may start a ticket to see what my error messages are about.

Thanks everyone!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-20-2017, 06:33 PM
jstotz's Avatar
jstotz jstotz is offline
Seasoned GUA Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 314
Default Re: New to Preps

Stupid autocorrect. You need to grab the jdf file, not the PDF. And make sure you are in the Preps folder, not out one level in the imposition plans folder.
__________________
Jamie Stotz
Westland Printers
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-20-2017, 06:35 PM
JCannon6tb's Avatar
JCannon6tb JCannon6tb is offline
Seasoned GUA Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 895
Default Re: New to Preps

Quote:
Originally Posted by wendytf View Post
Jamie, your Import Imposition instructions worked for me. (Except pdf file, not pdf).

I quit Prinergy and Preps and tried JCannon's instructions and got the same fail message.

I'll work with your solution for now, but may start a ticket to see what my error messages are about.

Thanks everyone!
I use jstotz method a lot too. That is probably the best way to go.

As far as the error messages go I have never seen that particular message so I can't help much with that. It could have to do with the Sig Selection Tool uses the Preps 5 engine instead of the Preps 6 engine and since you had created your job in Preps 6 the Sig Selection Tool may not be able to use it. I know there is an issue if you create the original impo in Preps 6 with Come and Go or a mixed binding style you can't use sig selection tool.
__________________
Prinergy Connect 8.0.2
Preps 8.0.2
Insite Prepress Portal 8
Mac OS Sierra 12.6
Adobe Creative Suite CC 2017
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-20-2017, 06:36 PM
JCannon6tb's Avatar
JCannon6tb JCannon6tb is offline
Seasoned GUA Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 895
Default Re: New to Preps

Quote:
Originally Posted by jstotz View Post
Stupid autocorrect. You need to grab the jdf file, not the PDF. And make sure you are in the Preps folder, not out one level in the imposition plans folder.
You can also use the .job file.
__________________
Prinergy Connect 8.0.2
Preps 8.0.2
Insite Prepress Portal 8
Mac OS Sierra 12.6
Adobe Creative Suite CC 2017
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-21-2017, 04:57 PM
wendytf's Avatar
wendytf wendytf is offline
Seasoned GUA Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 315
Send a message via MSN to wendytf
Default Re: New to Preps

Thanks kids for the solution.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2013 Kodak